Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Taggart Law Library Guide: Services

Reference Services

We offer a variety of research services, workshops, tours, and handouts throughout the year to help patrons use our collections. Reference librarians are available to help you help you locate and use print resources in our collection, access and search databases, and assist you in creating effective search strategies to enhance your research. Librarians are available to conduct research consultations in person, over the phone, or via email. To schedule a consultation, please reach out to our reference librarian, Dustin Johnston-Green.

Database Access & Digital Collections

The law library provides access to several legal research databases such as Lexis+, Westlaw Edge, Bloomberg Law, HeinOnline, and more. Most of these databases are accessible both on- and off-campus using the links in the law library databases page. Law students also have access to all databases provided by the Heterick Memorial Library. If you are having trouble accessing a database, please reach out to our librarians and they will be happy to assist you.

Additional electronic resources can be accessed via the POLAR online catalog.  Digital collections showcasing content produced at Ohio Northern University can be accessed via DigitalCommons@ONU, the university's institutional repository.

OhioLINK & Interlibrary Loan

Ohio Northern University is part of the OhioLINK library consortium, which enables patrons to borrow items directly from more than 117 libraries across the state. This system is available to you through our POLAR online catalog, and through the OhioLINK catalog.  Materials requested through OhioLINK generally arrive within two to three business days.

If you cannot find the item that you need in OhioLINK, we can borrow it from another library through interlibrary loan. Ask for assistance from a librarian, or complete an Interlibrary Loan request form. Please allow seven to ten days to receive material requested via interlibrary loan.

Borrowers will be charged for any fines or other fees which the Taggart Law Library must pay as a result of an item being returned late or damaged, or not returned at all.

Printing & Scanning

The law library has two black-and-white printers located in the computer lab which can be used to print, copy, and scan documents. It costs $0.04 per page to print or copy, whereas scanning is free. To check your printing allowance, log in to the ONU printing page.

Community members should visit their local public library for printing options, as printing is not available to the general public.

Circulating Items

The Taggart Law Library maintains a collection of non-book items available for checkout.  Items are generally available for four-hour loans and can be requested at the Circulation Desk.  Please let us know if there is something else you'd like us to consider offering!

  • Phone chargers (lightning, micro USB, and USB-C)
  • PC and Mac chargers
  • Standing and clip-on ring lights (1-day loan)
  • External CD/DVD drives (1-day loan)
  • Book stands
  • Umbrellas (1-day loan)
  • A football
  • A soccer ball
  • A frisbee
  • Decks of playing cards
  • Board games (chess & checkers, Scrabble, Connect 4, Uno/Phase 10/Snappy Dressers)
  • Puzzles

Contact Us

Circulation Desk Phone:
419-772-2239

Reference Email: 
law-reference@onu.edu

Mailing Address: 
Taggart Law Library
Ohio Northern University
525 S. Main St.
Ada, OH 45810

Building Address:
Tilton Hall of Law
415 S. Gilbert St
Ada, OH 45810