Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bridging the Gap Between College and Law School by This popular book helps students make the transition from their undergraduate experience to law school learning. Unlike other ¿introduction to law school¿ texts, Bridging the Gap offers a different approach because it: Explains the ¿why¿ of law, providing students with the context necessary to understand why law school is taught in a certain manner. Explains the ¿how¿ of the law, setting out a step-by-step process that will help students adapt to the law school setting. Explains the ¿what¿ of the law, giving students the opportunity to practice the problem-solving process by providing numerous exercises in a variety of subject matter areas. Rather than giving only general advice, or black letter law and some practice problems for a specific subject, Bridging the Gap provides the context, the process, and the problems. Written by two former law school professors who used these techniques with thousands of students, Bridging the Gap is a guide to what really works in law school.
Call Number: KF 283.S77 2009--Law North and Law Reserve
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Critical Reading for Success in Law School and Beyond by Critical Reading for Success in Law School and Beyond presents critical reading strategies in a systematic sequence so that students can become effective readers who are successful in both law school and in law practice. This reading system was developed by identifying the characteristics of expert readers at different stages of the reading process and then creating a curriculum to teach these skills. It contains essential ingredients for developing skills in reading comprehension as well as legal analysis, case evaluation, and case synthesis. Critical Reading starts with chapters on reading as an advocate and with focus and then introduces students to case structure as well as civil and criminal procedure. Students are then introduced to specific comprehension techniques such as case context, reading for an overview, reading facts, and strategies for understanding unclear text. Critical Reading then addresses strategies for making inferences, evaluating cases, and synthesizing cases. Critical Reading for Success in Law School and Beyond focuses on comprehension of full reported cases as students must be able to read full decisions in practice. It is designed to be used in law school pre-orientation and orientation programs, academic success courses, legal writing and doctrinal classes, as well as individual student support.
Call Number: KF283 .G75 2017
Publication Date: 2017-07-06
Deconstructing Legal Analysis by Peter T. Wendel has taught academic success workshops at over thirty-five law schools throughout the country. In Deconstructing Legal Analysis: A 1L Primer, he provides a variety of time-tested techniques-including a unique model for visualizing legal analysis-to teach students how to think like lawyers and take law school exams. Deconstructing Legal Analysis: A 1L Primer features: a unique, visual pedagogical method that illustrates a relational analysis of facts, rules, and public policy an interactive approach that consistently encourages students to write down their answers to carefully guided questions a great teaching case, Pierson v. Post, showing how a layperson reads a case as compared to how a lawyer would read the same case useful templates and methods for legal analysis and essay-exam writing, such as IRAC and IRRAC exam-taking tips and guidance that emphasize flexibility, rather than a formulaic approach If experience is the best teacher, then Deconstructing Legal Analysis is an essential for academic success in law school.
Call Number: KF283.W46 2009 -- Law Reserve
Publication Date: 2009-09-30
Expert Learning for Law Students by The third edition of Expert Learning for Law Students is a reorganization and rethinking of this highly-regarded law school success text. It retains the core insights and lessons from prior editions while updating the materials to reflect recent insights such as mindset theory, attribution theory, chunking for use, and interleaving learning. The text includes exercises and step-by-step guides to engage readers in the process of becoming expert learners, including specific strategies for succeeding in law school.
Call Number: KF283.S354 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-01
Introduction to the Study and Practice of Law in a Nutshell by "There are two things wrong with almost all legal writing. One is style. The other is content." Professor Fred Rodell, Yale, 1936. We can't do much about content. You'll have to know how the common law system works, how to read and brief cases, how to study and take exams, how to write and argue law and how lawsuits are tried. We can do something about style. There's advice and illustrations. You'll throw pots, working your first case, making your first argument, briefing cases, taking exams, and writing memos. This is not for the faint hearted nor is law school. Think like a lawyer. I won't be a bore. I'll tell jokes, some of which are actually funny. I'll challenge you intellectually. Where does law come from? Should judges follow precedent? What if your client wants to pave Paradise and put in a parking lot? If you love ideas you'll love this book and you'll love law school. (If you love people you'll love practice.)
Call Number: KF 273.H4 2017--Law Reserve
Publication Date: 2017-09-08
Law School Confidential by I WISH I KNEW THEN WHAT I KNOW NOW! Don't get to the end of your law school career muttering these words to yourself! Take the first step toward building a productive, successful, and perhaps even pleasant law school experience--read this book! Written by students, for students, Law School Confidential has been the "must-have" guide for anyone thinking about, applying to, or attending law school for more than a decade. And now, in this newly revised third edition, it's more valuable than ever. This isn't the advice of graying professors or battle-scarred practitioners long removed from law school. Robert H. Miller has assembled a blue-ribbon panel of recent graduates from across the country to offer realistic and informative firsthand advice about what law school is really like. This updated edition contains the very latest information and strategies for thriving and surviving in law school--from navigating the admissions process and securing financial aid, choosing classes, studying and exam strategies, and securing a seat on the law review to getting a judicial clerkship and a job, passing the bar exam, and much, much more. Newly added material also reveals a sea change that is just starting to occur in legal education, turning it away from the theory-based platform of the previous several decades to a pragmatic platform being demanded by the rigors of today's practices. Law School Confidential is a complete guide to the law school experience that no prospective or current law student can afford to be without.
Call Number: KF283.M55 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-26
Law School Success in a Nutshell by It answers questions students have as they begin their studies. What is a tort? Hornbook? Should I join a study group? It also explains and gives examples of the best methods for studying and for taking exams. It provides questions and model answers from actual law school exams. The Nutshell also provides information about the types of legal practice that are available to you when you graduate. And it describes the opportunities that will be available to you during your second and third years of law school, such as law journals, law clinics, internships, joint degree programs, and study abroad.
Call Number: KF 283.B87 2017--Law Reserves
Publication Date: 2017-07-14
Learning the Law by
Call Number: KF 283.F73 1997--Law North
Publication Date: 2000-06-01
Planet Law School by
Call Number: KF 283.F34 2003--Law North and Law Reserve
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
A Short and Happy Guide to Being a Law Student by A Short & Happy Guide to Being a Law Student is a must-read whenever worry or doubt creep in. In this volume you will find essential wisdom for the study of law and life. Learn from the unprecedented ten-time recipient of the Professor of the Year award how to be your best in and out of class, how to prepare for exams, how to succeed on exams, how to put your best foot forward in a job interview, how to find teachers to inspire you, what to do in classes that leave you uninspired, how to cope with stress and how to create value in everything you do. Learn more from the author in this short video.
Call Number: KF 273.F728 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-20
Understanding Law School: An Introduction to the LexisNexis Understanding Series and Tips on How to Succeed in Law School Understanding Law School is an eBook specifically designed for first-year law students. With sample chapters from some of our leading Understanding titles, content included in this book is designed to be a resource during each year of law school. The LexisNexis Understanding Series, a collection of user-friendly student treatises on a variety of topics, includes more than 50 individual titles. The concise, yet comprehensive, analysis contained in each Understanding title provides a foundation for true understanding of the subject and facilitates more than mere rote learning.
Call Number: ebook (available for free from LexisNexis Store)
Publication Date: 2004
The ABCs of Law School by Spoiler Alert: Law school can be overwhelming and stressful. The good news? You're not alone. The ABCs of Law School: Diary of a First Year Student shares all of the inside tips and tricks you need to survive and thrive, direct from someone who has been there, done that, and succeeded. The ABCs of Law School: Diary of a First Year Student is the newest book by bestselling, award-winning author, Teresa Power, JD. It offers access into the inner workings of law school, as told by an actual student. This easy to read guidebook provides a concise overview of the major core topics covered, as well as strategies on how to prepare for class, study for exams, and manage stress. Perfect for anyone considering, starting, or in law school! Book jacket.
Call Number: KF287.P69 2019
Publication Date: 2019-04-10